- PENNY ELLIS -
HISTORY, DIRECTORY & GAZETTEER
COUNTY OF YORK
Edward Baines, 1823
(Courtesy of the Dales Countryside Museum, Hawes)
"AYSGARTH, (P.) in the wap. of Hang West, and liberty of Richmondshire; 4 miles ESE. of Askrigg. This parish is very extensive, and contains three market-towns, viz. Hawes,, Askrigg, and Burton in Bishop's Dale...The church dedicated to St. Andrew, is a handsome edifice, and the living, which is a discharged vicarage, in the patronage of Trinity College, Cambridge, is enjoyed by the Rev. John Brasse; the Rev. John Winn is the curate...In addition to the parish church there are two meeting houses, one for the Society of Friends, and another for the Methodists." (p.408)
BISHOP'S DALE, in the parish of Aysgarth, and wap. of Hang West; 6 miles SE. of Askrigg. A township consisting of farm houses scattered at irregular distances from each other; in this picturesque and fertile dale there are several cascades of prodigious height and vast rocky sides intermixed with a variety of foliage, rich and beautiful. Population, 95.
BURTON-cum-WALDEN, (in Bishopdale,) in the parish of Aysgarth, wap. of Hang West, and liberty of Richmondshire; 6 miles E.S.E. of Askrigg. The town consists chiefly of one open street of irregular buildings. At the northern extremity stands a good stone building, erected in the year 1748, for a free school, by John Sadler, late of this place, who endowed it with the annual sum of 60l. to be paid out of a certain estate, but unfortunately, the charitable intentions of that gentleman is now frustrated, the tenant of the estate having refused to pay the rent, on some legal quibble, and the school house having been appropriated by an inhabitant to his own use, and now claimed as his property. The only manufactory here is the combing of wool, and the only place of worship is a Methodist chapel, built about ten tears ago. The town is surrounded by picturesque scenery, and the river abounds with Salmon and other fish. - Population, 478.
Post-town, Bedale - John Ibbotson, post man.
Letters arrive every Mon. Wed. Thur. and
Sat. at 12'o'clock noon, and despatched
at 2 aft.
Newbiggin, in the parish of Aysgarth, wap. of Hang West, and liberty of Richmondshire; 5 miles SE. of Askrigg; a small hamlet, chiefly inhabited by farmers. Pop. 128. (p.493)
THORALBY, in the parish of Aysgarth, wap. of Hang West, and liberty of Richmondshire; 4½ miles SE. of Askrigg. Pop. 342.
Heseltine James, gentleman
Hopper Miss Ann
Lodge Ralph, chief constable
Farmers & Yeomen
Heseltine Mrs. gentlewoman
Irwin John, surgeon
Purchase William, Esq. Hall
Purchase William, jun. gentleman
Tennant Miss, gentlewoman
Lawson Thomas, linen draper
Peacock Thomas, joiner
Richardson James, vict. Black Bull
Tennant Christopher, schoolmaster
Tennant Edward, corn miller
Tunstall Thomas, butcher
Webster James, shopkeeper
Wellock John, vict. Fox & Hounds
Matson J. and J.
Lord Morris Rokeby, Littleburn hall,
Sadler Miss Jane, gentlewoman
Terry Brian, yeoman
Willis James, attorney
Butterfield John, tailor
Calvert George, vict. and corn miller,
George and Dragon**
Coates James, butcher
Dunn Lawson, portrait painter
Gill Peter, butter factor
Heseltine John, vict. Volunteer
Heseltine Wm. cooper
Nicholson Dorothy, grocer
Willis John, blacksmith
*His son Anthony (1838-1919) emigrated to the USA and is mentioned in "Those Who left the Dales", Ed. Glenys Marriott 2010, as 'a progressive man of Wyoming.' In fact he was so successful that all his siblings and his parents Anthony and Alice (neé Sayer) also emigrated to the USA.
* *Later known as the George Inn, possibly to distinguish it from the George & Dragon at the nearby village of Aysgarth.